The Blues Brothers

The Blues Brothers is an American blues group whose main members are the two actors and singers Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi. The group was formed in the late 1970s as the NBC was looking for a duo capable of combining music and comedy for its flagship show. The two actors caused a sensation and were immediately hired by the channel. Felt pens, glasses and black costumes are the hallmarks of this explosive duo, which quickly became popular. They surrounded themselves with the greatest blues musicians of the time: bassist Donald "Duck" Dun, drummer Willie Hall, guitarists Steve Cropper and Matt Murphy, saxophonist Lou Marini, trumpeter Alan Rubin and pianist Murphy Dunne. In 1978, they released their first opus "Briefcase Full of Blues" which contained covers of great soul standards such as "Soul Man" or "Everybody Needs Somebody to Love". Promising debut... The album sold more than two million copies in the United States and became a platinum record. Surfing on the wave of success, director John Landris dedicates a film to them. "The Blues Brothers" was released in 1980 and established the band's reputation. For the occasion, they recorded a cover of "Sweet Home Chicago" which became their biggest success. After a triumphant third album, John Belushi disappeared in full glory. He died of an overdose on March 5, 1982 at the age of 33. His premature death marks the end of the group... Even though, for a time, actor Eddie Murphy was considered as a replacement for Belushi, the members of the group decided to end their collaboration and pursue their own careers.

All sheet music
from The Blues Brothers